The Department of Food & Public Distribution in collaboration with all States/UTs is implementing a Scheme namely “Integrated Management of Public Distribution System (IM-PDS)” during 2018-19 and 2019-20. The main objective of the scheme is to introduce nation-wide portability of ration card holders under NFSA through ‘One Nation One Ration Card’ System, to lift their entitled foodgrains from any Fair Price Shop (FPS) in the country without the need to obtain a new ration card. This system would largely benefit numerous migratory beneficiaries who frequently change their place of dwelling in search of work/employment or for other reasons across the country and eventually get deprived of their quota of subsidized foodgrains under NFSA due to migration from their native place.

Through this system, migratory beneficiaries shall be able to access their food security entitlements from any FPS of their choice/convenience by using their same/existing ration cards after biometric/Aadhaar authentication on electronic Point of Sale (ePoS) devices at the FPS in another State/UT. At present, the facility of inter-State portability is enabled in 8 States i.e. in four clusters of 2-adjoining States of Andhra Pradesh & Telangana, Gujarat & Maharashtra, Haryana & Rajasthan, and Karnataka & Kerala. It is further envisaged that all four clusters, as above, and a few other states have already implemented intra-State portability shall be integrated together into a single national platform. Thereafter, the rollout of National Portability in other States/UTs shall be done as and when the national de-duplication of all ration cards, beneficiaries under NFSA is completed and biometric/Aadhaar authentication based distribution is enabled in the State/UT.